Home » Chakras Frequently Asked Questions

Chakras Frequently Asked Questions

Are you confused with the concepts of the chakras or tired with the repetitive information of the 7 chakras. Then this place is for you. Here, you will get the most authoritative teachings form the original eastern masters.

What is a chakra?

A chakra is an energy center in the human body that receives, processes and transmits information about particular aspects of being and experience.   The Sanskrit word “chakra” literally means “wheel,” which is an apt name for these energy portals since they rotate in a circular fashion just like a wheel.

Here, Chakra means “wheel” and refers to energy points in your body. They are thought to be spinning disks of energy that should stay “open” and aligned, as they correspond to bundles of nerves, major organs, glands, and areas of our energetic body that affect our emotional and physical well-being.

How many chakras are in the human body?

There are 114 chakras in the human body. However, presently only seven chakras are commonly known to western world.

Can I feel my chakras?

Yes, if you know the techniques. Most people can actually feel their chakras.  From the inside, your chakras create feelings like “butterflies in your stomach” (3rd chakra) or a warmth in your heart (4th chakra). From the outside, you can often feel them with your hand as a sort of “cushion” of energy. It’s even easier to feel someone else’s chakras.  Have them lie on their back, and then put your hand over their solar plexus or heart.  Start with your hand about two feet away, and then move it down until you start to feel their energy meet yours – it will feel like a light energy cushion moving out from their body.

The 7 Major Chakras in Human Body

The basic human chakra system, as it is commonly accepted, consists of 114 chakras and seven major chakras.  The seven major chakras starts from the base of the spine to the crown of the head. Their names, locations and corresponding chakra colors are:

Root chakra — base of the spine — red
Sacral chakra — just below the navel — orange
Solar Plexus chakra — stomach area — yellow
Heart chakra — center of the chest — green
Throat chakra — base of the throat — blue
Third Eye chakra — forehead, above between the eyes — indigo
Crown chakra — top of the head — violet

What are chakra blockages?

Chakras can become blocked. The free flow of energy in and out, plus the flow of energy to other chakras, is restricted. It is possible that you have a chakra that is clogged or stuck.  If you’ve been feeling less vital and energetic, it’s possible that you have a chakra that is clogged or stuck. A blocked root chakra may lead to you feeling nervous, fearful and insecure about your safety.

How to clear blocked chakras?

To help clear chakras, visualize each one of your chakras opening, one at a time, and imagine positive energy and light flowing through each of them. Maintain this visual for as long as you can, and if and when you feel you’ve made positive progress, visualize each chakra closing, one at a time.

What are the 7 Healing Chakras?

1st Chakra:  Tip of the tailbone/perineum area

2nd Chakra:  Pelvis/sacrum

3rd Chakra:  Solar Plexus

4th Chakra: Heart Center

5th Chakra:  Throat

6th Chakra:  Above and between the brows

7th Chakra:  Above the crown.

114 Chakras Explained | Significance, Activation, and Meditation

How to read your aura and how are they connected with your chakras?